Atlanta Workplace Accident Attorney
Work with a Team with Over a Decade of Experience
Workers in certain industries, such as the construction or manufacturing
industries, are at greater risk for injury and fatal accidents at their
workplace. According to state law, the term "
work-related injury" is defined as personal injury or
death by accident arising out of or in the course of employment. This term also
includes disease or infection that naturally or unavoidably results from
If you or someone you love sustained an injury or illness while on the
job, you can seek the compensation you need when you call an Atlanta personal
injury lawyer from our office. You may be able to recover wage benefits
and medical benefits for your injuries, and in certain situations you
could qualify for disability benefits as well.
initial case evaluation is free and you don't pay unless we win your case, so speak with an Atlanta
workplace injury lawyer today!
What to Do After a Serious Work-Related Accident
According to Georgia law, you must notify your employer or your supervisor
of your accident within 30 days in order for your claim to be valid.
There must be a good reason if you wait more than 30 days, at which point
you must notify your employer or supervisor of your accident in writing.
Time restrictions such as these are referred to as the "statute of
limitations," and a failure to take action within the required time
limits could result in the loss of your right to benefits. This is one
of the reasons why it is especially important to have the help of an Atlanta
workplace accident lawyer after you have been injured.
Georgia law also states that you must file a
WC-14 form, Notice of Claim, with the Workers' Compensation Board for the following situations:
- 1 year from the date of injury; or
- 1 year from the date of the last authorized treatment paid for by your
employer or its insurer; or
- 2 years from the last payment of workers' compensation income benefits
You can pursue a workers' compensation claim and benefits at any point
after you file a Form 14, but long periods of time in between your treatments
can make it harder for you to obtain compensation.
When you are seeking compensation for a work-related injury or illness,
there are several other deadlines that you must be aware of as well. For
example, if your claim is rejected by a judge at the Workers' Compensation Board,
you only have 20 days to appeal that decision and failure to do so may result in a loss of your ability to further pursue
Additionally, there are times when a claim may exist against a party other
than your employer. This type of third-party claim can come about when
you are injured at work because of a defective product or machine that
came from another manufacturer.
Third-party claims generally have a 2-year deadline in Georgia, although the requirement varies in other states, and shorter deadlines
Why You Need an Atlanta Injury Attorney
Henningsen Injury Attorneys, P.C., we have the legal knowledge and experience to help you determine if you
have a claim against your employer or a third-party, or both. In some
situations, you may be able to file a claim against your employer in addition
to a claim for workers' compensation benefits. We know how to handle
these situations and will fight the insurance adjusters for the maximum
amount of compensation available to you and your loved ones.
Contact our firm at any time to discuss your case. Your first appointment is complimentary.