Georgia’s Laws: Cell Phone Use While Driving
October 27, 2015
Under Georgia State law, the use of cellular and other electronic devices while driving is not completely prohibited. There has been a heavy increase in traffic related fatalities in Georgia for 2015 and the Department of Transportation is placing a lot of the blame on distracted driving. Due to this fact, there has also been an increase of convictions for distracted driving.
What are the current laws on cell phone use in Georgia?
- Novice drivers under the age of 18 are banned from using cell phones while driving, regardless of whether or not it is a hands-free device. Fines are $150 if caught.
- Texting while driving is banned for all drivers. Fines are $150 if caught and 1 point on your license.
- If passengers are present, it is illegal for school bus drivers to use any kind of cellular device.
HB 118 legislation was quickly approved, which has outlawed the use of any handheld communication devices for commercial drivers. This brings Georgia’s commercial drivers now under federal DOT regulations. This was signed into law on May 12, 2015.
State Representative, Rahn Mayo, is hoping to see new legislation pass in 2015-2016 that would place a ban on all use of handheld mobile devices while driving.
Have You Been Injured By a Distracted Driver?
If you have been injured by a driver who was violating any of these laws regarding cell phone use, you may be eligible for compensation. Contact our Atlanta car accident lawyer at Henningsen Injury Attorneys, P.C. for a free consultation of your case. We can discuss your options during this initial evaluation and help you move forward in the right direction.